Cabinet Secretaries Salaries & Allowances In Kenya

The 2010 Constitution of Kenya allows a maximum of 22 ministries under Article 152 and sets the minimum number to 14. Cabinet Secretaries is not a Member of the Kenyan Parliament and has to be vetted by a parliamentary committee before their appointment.

Kenyan Cabinet Secretaries Salary and Allowances:

A gazette notice by the Salaries and Remuneration Commission (SRC) indicates that a Cabinet Secretary is entitled to a cumulative salary of KSh 924,000.

The salary includes a basic salary of KSh 554,400, a house allowance of KSh 200,000, and a market adjustment of Ksh 169,600.

Other benefits include;

Official state car, maximum engine capacity of 3,000cc.

Medical benefits – annual medical cover that will cater to one spouse and a maximum of four children under 25.

  • Inpatient – KSh 10 million.
  • Outpatient – Ksh 300,000.
  • Maternity KSh 150,000.
  • Dental KSh – 75,000.
  • Optical -Ksh 75,000.

Car loan and mortgage – KSh 10 million car loan and a KSh 40 million mortgage.

Airtime allowance – monthly airtime allowance of up to KSh 20,000.

Travel allowance – domestic and international travel allowances that will be determined by the SRC.

Security – The inspector general of police is tasked with ensuring the Cabinet members are all protected.


Complete List Of Cabinet Secretaries In Kenya:

  1. Prime Cabinet Secretary – Musalia Mudavadi.
  2. East African Community (EAC) and Regional Development Ministry- Rebecca Miano
  3. Roads, Transport and Public Works Ministry – Kipchumba Murkomen.
  4. Environment and Forestry Ministry- Roselinda Soipan Tuya.
  5. Lands Ministry – Zachary Mwangi.
  6. Tourism and Wildlife Ministry- Peninah Malonza.
  7. Agriculture and Livestock Development Ministry- Franklin Mithika Linturi.
  8. Ministry of Health – Susan Wafula.
  9. Information and Communication (ICT) Ministry – Eliud Owalo.
  10. Ministry of Education – Ezekiel Machogu.
  11. Petroleum and Energy Ministry – Davis Chirchir.
  12. Sports, Youth Affairs and Arts Ministry- Ababu Namwamba.
  13. Cooperatives and SMEs – Simon Chelugui.
  14. Mining, Blue Economy and Maritime Affairs – Salim Mvurya.
  15. Foreign Affairs – Alfred Mutua.
  16. Ministry of Labour and Social Protection – Florence Bore.
  17. National Treasury – Njuguna Ndung’u.
  18. Defense – Aden Duale.
  19. Trade – Moses Kuria.
  20. Water, Sanitation & Irrigation – Alice Wahome.
  21. Interior and National Coordination of Government – Kithure Kindiki.
  22. Public Service and Gender – Aisha Jumwa.
  23. Other Cabinet-level portfolio appointments were as follows:
  24. Advisor on Women Rights Agency- Harriet Chigai.
  25. National Security Advisor – Monica Juma.
  26. Secretary to the Cabinet – Mercy Wanjau.
  27. Attorney General – Justin Muturi


Prime Cabinet Secretary Musali Mudavadi Roles:

In his new role as Prime Cabinet Secretary, one-time Finance Minister (1993-1997) Musalia Mudavadi has been assigned the following functions:-

  • Assist the President and the Deputy President in the coordination and supervision of Government Ministries and State Departments; 
  • In liaison with the Ministry responsible for Interior and National Administration, oversee the implementation of National Government policies, programs, and projects; 
  • Chair and Coordinate National Government legislative agenda across all ministries and state departments in consultation with and for transmission to the Party/Coalition Leaders in Parliament; 
  • Facilitate inter-ministerial coordination of cross-functional initiatives and programs; 
  • Coordinate and supervise the technical monitoring and evaluation of Government policies, programs, and projects across Ministries; and 
  • Perform any other function as may be assigned by the President

Drop Your Comments, What do you think About The Article?

Comments are closed.