9 Major Functions Of TSC Commissioners in Kenya.

TSC Commissioners

The Teachers Service Commission (TSC) of Kenya is an Independent Commission that was established back in July 1967 through an Act of Parliament to give teachers uniform terms and conditions of service. It’headquartered in Upperhill, Nairobi with offices in all 47 Counties.

There are 9 TSC commissioners who comprise of a chairperson and a vice chairperson. Dr. Lydia Nzomo is the current chairperson while Cleopas Tirop is the vice-chairperson.

All TSC commissioners serve for a period of 6 years on a full-time basis undertaking the following roles. They are all appointed by the president.

Functions of TSC Commissioners in Kenya

1. Registration of trained teachers.

2. Recruiting and employing registered teachers.

3. Assigning teachers employed by the Commission to serve in any Kenyan public school or institution.

4. Promotion and transfer of teachers.

5. Exercising disciplinary control over teachers.

6. Terminating the employment of teachers.

7. Reviewing the standards of education and training of persons entering the teaching service.

8. Reviewing the demand for and supply of teachers

9. Advising the national government on matters relating to the teaching profession.

Do you have a story or Your Biography that you would like us to publish or would like to be featured on our website? Reach us via news@nairobiminibloggers.com or our contact page.

Facebook Comments

ANOTHER GREAT ARTICLE:  Newly Employed Secondary School Teachers Service Commission(TSC) Salary In A Year

Interesting Articles...