Oscar Sudi is the Most Useless Member Of Parliament 2020 – Mzalendo Report.

Nairobi mini Bloggers.

Kapseret Member of Parliament (MP) Oscar Sudi apparently only makes a lot of noise outside the August House.

A report by the Parliamentary Monitoring Organization, Mzalendo Trust, titled “Parliamentary Scorecard” has exposed him as an inactive legislator who has always kept mum and evaded debates on the floor of the house since 2017.

Oscar Sudi
Samuel Arama.

He and Nakuru Town West MP Samuel Arama have made zero contributions in parliament since then.

Two senators and 19 members of the National Assembly 21 were also elected to warm their seats as they too never made any contributions at the plenary sessions in 2019, 16 of them being men.

They include Abdi Tepo (Isiolo South), Abdi Shurie (Balambala), Ahmed Gaal (Tarbaj), Johnson Naicca (Mumias West), Amin Deddy (Laikipia East) Geoffrey Kingagi (Mbeere South), James Gakuya (Embakasi North), George Aladwa (Makadara), John Owino (Awendo), Oscar Sudi (Kapseret), Stanley Muthama (Lamu West), Gideon Konchella (Kilgoris), Justus Kizito (Shinyalu), Samuel Arama (Nakuru Town West), Alfred Sambu (Webuye East) and James Mukwe (Kabuchai).

The female MPs are; Rose Museo (Makueni), Beatrice Kones (Bomet East) and Amina Gedow (Mandera).

Best performers

Oscar Sudi
David Sankok.

The other side of the coin is not rusty, as the report also paints a picture of MPs who have taken their responsibilities seriously. Among them are male members of parliament are David Sankok (Nominated), Wilberforce Ojiambo (Funyula), Robert Pukose (Endebess) and Benson Makali (Kitui Central), and their female counterparts Jacqueline Oduol (Nominated), Jennifer Shamala (Nominated), Ruweida Obo (Lamu), Sophia Noor (Ijara) and Millie Odhiambo.

At the Senate, the most vibrant members are Moses Wetangula (Bungoma), Aaron Cheruiyot (Kericho), Ochilo Ayako (Migori), Getrude Musuruve (Nominated) and Ledama ole Kina, while those snoring in class include Christine Zawadi (Nominated), Philip Mpaayei (Kajiado), Halima Abdille (Nominated), Amos Wako (Busia) and Mercy Chebeni (Nominated).

Oscar Sudi
Moses Wetangula

The report indicates that the 12th Parliament’s 3rd Session was the lowest compared to the previous sessions, considering that out of the 116 Bills passed in the National Assembly only 24 were assented to, translating to about 21%, the lowest in five years.

The Senate passed a total of 34 Bills out of which only 4 were assented to, translating to only 12%.

The report also indicates that Homa Bay, Trans Nzoia, Kericho, West Pokot, and Bungoma are the best performing counties in terms of member contributions on the floor of the House, the worst performers being Garissa, Tana River, Turkana, Kwale, and Narok.

The National Assembly committees held a total of 1211 committee sittings in 2019, while the Senate had approximately 505 sittings, the report reveals.

Oscar Sudi
Jennifer Shamalla.

Facebook Comments

ANOTHER GREAT ARTICLE:  'Stop Investigations Into Ksh 7 Billion KEMSA Scandal', Raila Tells DPP.

Interesting Articles...