in ,

10 African Presidents Who Have Changed Constitution To Remain In Power

10 African Presidents Who Have Changed Constitution To Remain In Power

Condé had joined a long list of African Presidents who have mutilated their countries’ constitutions to remain in power forever.

After over 10 years in power, former Guinea President Alpha Condé was on Sunday ousted in a bloodless coup.

Even after his fall, there are many more remaining strongmen across the continent who have amended their countries Construction to keep them in power by abolishing term limits. These African Presidents include:

1. Yoweri Museveni

Uganda’s President since 1986, Museveni is the third longest-serving Head of State in Africa.

Now in his third term, Museveni is a classic example of President for life. In his country, term limits only exist on paper.

2. Dennis Ngueso

The Republic of Congo’s President has been in power since 1997. Before that, he had ruled the country from 1979 to 1990.

Just like several other African countries, term limits do not exist in the Republic of Congo.

3. Paul Biya

Africa’s second longest-serving President, the Cameroon Head of State has been in power since 1982.

In his country, Biya can vie for President for as long as he is healthy and willing to stand for election.

Equatorial Guinea President Teodoro Obiang Nguema ( Photo Courtesy)

4 . Theodore Obiang Nguema

In power since 1979, Obiang is the longest-serving President in Africa.

In his country, where Obiang is President for life, elections are just done for formality. Considering that the septuagenarian has been in power for 42 years, term limits just exist on paper.

5. Alassane Ouattara

Ivory Coast’s President since 2010, the 79-year old was in 2020 elected for a controversial third term having amended the Constitution to allow him to run again for election.

6. Paul Kagame: In power since 2001, Kagame is set to remain as Rwanda President until 2034. The 2018 referendum approved his continued stay in power.

7. Gulleh Ismail Omar

The long-serving Djibouti President was recently sworn in for another term after a controversial election.

In the tiny Horn of Africa country, term limit remains a mirage.

8. Faure Gnassingbe

The Togo ruler has been in power since 2005 when he succeeded his father Gnassingbe Eyadema.

He has since abolished term limits and is now serving his fourth term.

9. Ali Bongo Ondimba

The Gabon Head of State has been at the helm of the oil-rich country since 2009 when he succeeded his father Omar Bongo Ondimba. Now in his third term, he could rule the country for as long as he wishes.

10. Isaiah Afwerki

The Eritrea President has been in power since his country attained independence in 1993.

Now in his 28th year in power, the veteran ruler has ensured that there are no term limits in his country.

Would you like to get published on this Popular Blog? You can now email Admin any breaking news, your Bio, articles or advertise with us on: [email protected]

What Do You Think About This Piece? One Favor Leave a Comments and Share Widely.

Written by miniBloggersKe

NAIROBIminiBLOGGERS Believes in philanthropists, and we also have a Keen interest in Political, Leadership, and Governance. We will tell you what they don't want you to know.