5 Expelled Jubilee Senators Starts Sending Their Apology Letter Acknowledging New Senate Leadership.


Nominated senator Christine Gona Zawadi has come out to declare her loyalty to the new Senate majority leadership shortly after her expulsion from the Jubilee Party.

Senator Zawadi is among five nominated senators including Falhada Iman Dekow, Millicent Omanga, Victor Prengei, Naomi Jillo and Mary Seneta Yiane who were today expelled for snubbing Monday’s statehouse meeting convened by President Uhuru Kenyatta.

Jubilee Party Secretary General Rafael Tuju stated that their explulsion was due to insurbordination and gross misconduct.

He claimed that the senators refused to honor the President’s invivation to the meeting and did not even bother to convey their apologies and reasons for their absence.

Senator Zawadi, relaying her apologies through the Chief Whip of the Senate Irungu Kang’ata, defended herself for not attending the meeting.

She cited transport and logistical barriers erected for purposes of curbing the spread of Covid-19 virus as reason for her absence claiming she was not in Nairobi at the time of the meeting.

“The reason for my nonattendance is because of transport and logistical barriers that have been erected by the government to contain Covid-19. I was out of Nairobi Metropolitan as at the of the meeting,” she wrote.

She also acknowledged Senate’s new leadership to expel doubts that she did not support the president’s decision.

“For avoidance of doubt my new leaders for Jubilee party in the Senate are:

 1. Sen. Samuel Poghisio- Majority Leader

 2. Sen. Fatuma Dullo- Deputy Majority Leader

 3. Sen. Irungu Kang’ata- Majority Whip

ANOTHER GREAT ARTICLE:  Sen Isaac Mwaura: The grounds are getting wet and Ready, Calm In The Coronavirus (COVID-19).

 4. Sen. Haji Farhiya Ali- Deputy Majority Whip,” she assured.

Christine Gona Zawadi Apology Letter

The Monday meeting had proposed changes to the Senate’s majority leadership where Deputy President William Ruto’s allies former Senate Majority Leader Kipchumba Murkomen and former Chief Majority Leader Susan Kihika were ousted, paving way for Senators Samuel Poghisio and Irungu Kang’ata into their respective positions.

According to a statement issued by Statehouse spokesperson Kanze Dena on Monday after the meeting, only 20 senators from Jubilee and KANU parties attended.

Facebook Comments

Interesting Articles...