10 Key Senators Who Voted Against the Sakaja and Linturi’s Amendment Today in Senate.


Meru Senator Mithika Linturi amended senator Sakaja’s proposal in order to come up with a win-win formula for all the counties in the allocation of revenue from the national government. This was the 8th sitting to decide on how the counties were going to share the money.

As expected, the debate was heated, strong arguments were brought from each side with each Senator who contributed giving their reasons for which way they thought was the best for all the 47 counties. Senator Linturi’s amendment of Senator Sakaja’s proposal was passed with a win of 25 Senators against those 20 Senators.

Here are 10 key Senators who voted against the amendment.

Senator, Irungu Kang’ata (Murang’a), Gideon Moi(Baringo), James Orengo (Siaya), Kimani Wamatangi (Kiambu), Senator Samson Cherargei (Nandi), Amos Wako (Busia) Sam Ongeri (Kisii), Samuel Poghisio (West Pokot), Susan Kihika (Nakuru) and Senator Moses Kajwang (Homa Bay).

Those were the 10 key Senators who felt that the one man, one vote, and one shilling was the way forward for the country. There was drama and confusion during voting when Nandi Senator Samson Cherargei voted ‘Yes’ and he was supposed to vote ‘No’. He immediately pleaded with the speaker to give him another chance which he was accorded after everyone had voted.

Has Senator Linturi and Sakaja’s proposal achieved the win-win formula for all the counties?

Please follow for more news.

Facebook Comments

ANOTHER GREAT ARTICLE:  Gov Mike Sonko Reshuffle; Constitution Allows, This Is Why.

Interesting Articles...